Jan 5, 2022

Awardees of SRA without Overseas Travel for Fiscal 2021

The Sylff Association secretariat is pleased to announce the 11 recipients of SRA without Overseas Travel awards for fiscal 2021 (April 2021 to March 2022). Like last year, this year’s Sylff Research Abroad was modified to accommodate restrictions on international travel due to COVID-related health and security concerns. We were delighted to receive a great number of outstanding applications from fellows all over the world in spite of the current constraints.

We reviewed all applications carefully from the perspectives of eligibility, the feasibility of the proposals, and the relevance of the proposed research to the applicants’ academic pursuits. The awardees were at different stages of their research, some taking advantage of SRA without Overseas Travel to collect fundamental data for their doctoral dissertation, with others using the opportunity to verify their findings and receive further advice from overseas experts.

The secretariat was heartened by the initiative and leadership demonstrated by fellows intent on taking advantage of the support program despite the pandemic-induced setbacks to their research endeavors. We are also grateful to Sylff steering committee members at each Sylff institution for their cooperation in encouraging fellows to apply.

Congratulations to all the awardees! We send them our best wishes and hope the research conducted with this award will be fruitful in advancing their doctoral research. The 11 awardees are as follows:

* Listed in alphabetical order.

Name Sylff Institution   From (Country) To
(Research conducted in)

Mia Dragnic

University of Chile



Tamas Dudlak

Hungarian Academy of Sciences




Aliki Gkana

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens



Abdulcelil Kaya Ankara University Turkey Germany

Sunil Kumar

Jawaharlal Nehru University


South Korea

Olaniyi Joshua Olabiyi

University of the Western Cape

South Africa


Sennane Gatakaa Riungu University of Nairobi Kenya Ghana

Maija-Eliina Sequeira

University of Helsinki



Riga Shakya Columbia University USA Taiwan
Nemanja Vuksanovic University of Belgrade Serbia Croatia
Mengtai Zhang Columbia University USA China