Oct 18, 2018

SRA Awardees for Fiscal 2018, First Round

The Sylff Association secretariat is pleased to announce the 12 recipients of SRA awards in the first selection round for fiscal 2018. We received a large number of outstanding applications from fellows all over the world, which made the selection process very competitive.

We reviewed all applications carefully from the perspectives of eligibility, the feasibility of the proposals, and the relevance of the proposed research to the applicants’ academic pursuits. Some of the 12 applicants were making their second try and successfully won the award this time around.

Congratulations to all the awardees! We send them our best wishes and hope that the findings of their research abroad will further enrich their dissertations. The 12 awardees are as follows:

* Listed in alphabetical order.


Sylff Institution

SRA Host Institution (Country)

Frank Afari

Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

Northwestern University (USA)

Anete Butkevica

University of Latvia

University of California, San Diego

Eunsung Cho

Columbia University

Fieldwork (Japan)

Inga Hajdarowicz

Jagiellonian University

Women Now for Development (Lebanon)

Corinna Land

Ruhr University Bochum

Centro de Estudios Rurales Interdisciplinarios (Paraguay)

Yan Liu

Chongqing University

University College London (UK)

Rumi Naito

Columbia University

Borneo Nature Foundation (Indonesia)

Nick Turman-Bryant

University of Oregon

Fieldwork (Kenya)

Pieter De Vlieger

University of Michigan

Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium)

Anna Bozena Wroblewska

Jagiellonian University

Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired (USA)

Marcin Wrobel

Jagiellonian University

Lund University (Sweden)

Irene Zamora

Waseda University

Tecnologico de Monterrey (Mexico)