Apr 20, 2018

SRA Awardees for Fiscal 2017, Second Round

The Sylff Association secretariat is pleased to announce the 13 recipients of SRA awards in the second selection round for fiscal 2017. We received a large number of applications from fellows all over the world. There was great variety in the proposed fields and themes of research. Many were highly persuasive which made the selection process very competitive. All applications were carefully screened for eligibility, the feasibility of the proposal, and the relevance of the proposed research to the applicant’s academic pursuits. Congratulations to the winning applicants! We send them our best wishes and hope that the findings of their research abroad will further enrich and enhance their dissertations. The 13 awardees are as follows:

*Awardees are listed in alphabetical order.


Sylff Institution

SRA Host Institution (Country)

Jessica Currier

Portland State University

Fieldwork (Germany, Ireland,  Portugal, and Sweden)

Justin K. Canfil

Columbia University

Peking University (China)

Moara Assis Alves Salzedas Crivelente

University of Coimbra

University of Warwick (UK)

Joanna Durlik-Marcinowska

Jagiellonian University

University of Granada (Spain)

Erick Serna Luna

El Colegio de México

Freie Universitat Berlin, ZI Lateinamerika-Institut (Germany)

Angela Mendes Freitas

University of Coimbra

UC Berkeley’s Institute of Urban & Regional Development (USA)

Melek Mutioglu Ozkesen

Ankara University

International Institute of Social Studies, Erasmus University    Rotterdam (Netherlands)

Sujaan Mukherjee

Jadavpur University

Birkbeck, University of London (UK)

Bonnie Ruder

Oregon State University

Terrewode (Uganda)

Ivo Emilov Strahilov

Sofia University

Centre de recherches sur les liens sociaux (France)

Marina Stetic

University of Belgrade

The State Archives in Dubrovnik (Croatia)

Hubert Zieba

Jagiellonian University

San Francisco State University (USA)

Dongxin Zou

Columbia University

Le Centre d’etudes diocesain “Les Glycines” (Algeria)